10.12.12 Horse Drawn Claridges

Sufficed to say, it’s been a bit of a down day. Having achieved very little I was sat idly watching tv and just letting it watch over me but sometimes that’s the best time to learn something. The tv flicked over to a BBC documentary behind the scenes of the world famous Claridges hotel and took me steadily through the history of the famous hotel.

The most interesting part was how the famous hotel came into being. I mean, nowadays people just buy a plot of land and go to work constructing a monolith. But the origins of Claridges show what makes it so unique and give it it’s heritage.

20121223-203920.jpg

1800s

William and Marriam Claridge are running a hotel in a single house 51 Brook Street. In an ambitious move to expand their business, they buy the adjoining five buildings in 1854. Claridges opens in its own rights in 1956.

It then went through multiple visits from royals as its reputation grew to the point now where a suite costs a phenomenal £1080 per night, I guess I won’t be staying there anytime soon!!

DC

Leave a comment